Round 10 Supercars Championship, OTR SuperSprint

Race 21 – Position 2

Mostert claimed pole for Race 21 on Saturday at The Bend Motorsport Park, the 3rd of the season and 19th of his career, breaking a tie with Marcos Ambrose for 12th on the all-time list.

Mostert was beaten off the line by McLaughlin on the clean side of the track and after the first and only round of pit stops rejoined behind McLaughlin to finish the 21-lap Race in P2.

The Supercheap Auto Driver collected his 10th podium of 2019 and moved up to 3rd in the Championship Standings with his podium finish.

“For me, that race was good to be able to actually see Scott (McLaughlin) and finish at the chequered line and still see him in my vision. Good day for us, it’s always one of those things when you start on pole, you never really want to go positions back, but it’s just good to have car speed and be able to go with him. So, I’m looking forward to tomorrow, and see if we can tune it up a bit more tonight.”

Race 22 – Position 3

Mostert qualified P3 for Sunday’s 42-lap race, starting on the second row but dropping into P4 on the Race Start.

The Tickford Racing Driver was able to climb back into podium contention with strategy and finished the race in P3, just behind team-mate Will Davison in P2.

Mostert headed to the Podium for his 4th consecutive trophy and was promoted to 2nd in the Supercars Championship Standings.

“It’s a good weekend for us, great yesterday to get a pole position, it had been a while since one of them, but overall a successful weekend. It’s always great to talk to (media) at the end of the day, so it means we’re doing something right. It’s one of those things, you want to keep pushing forward. This weekend, I don’t know if we can read into it too much, it’s a bit of a unique track set up wise and stuff like that, so I’m excited to go to Pukie next and see what the car has got there for them.”

Mostert will now prepare for the Auckland SuperSprint for Round 11 of the 2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, to be held on 13 – 15 September with all races to be televised LIVE on Fox Sports.


  • 1 – Scott McLaughlin, Shell V-Power Racing – 2738 points
  • 2 – Chaz Mostert, Tickford Racing – 2165 points
  • 3 – Fabian Coulthard, Shell V-Power Racing – 2152 points
  • 4 – Shane Van Gisbergen, Red Bull Holden Racing – 2122 points
  • 5 – Jamie Whincup, Red Bull Holden Racing – 1981 points