Round 8 Supercars Championship, Townsville 400

Chaz Mostert has finished P3 & P5 at the Townsville 400 for Round 8 of the 2019 Supercars Championship.

Race 17 – Position 3

Mostert qualified P2 for Race 17 of the Supercars Championship, narrowly missing out on pole as the final flying laps fell.

Mostert claimed his first podium at the Townsville Track, getting a great start off of the line but struggling with race pace in the Number 55 Supercheap Auto Ford Mustang.

The result is Mostert’s forty-seventh career podium and seventh of the 2019 Virgin Australia Supercars season.

“I’m super pumped to get a trophy here, I’ve been trying for a few years, and always seemed to come up short, so I got the monkey off my back. I’m a lot of years into my career, but this has always been the one to get away from us.”

Race 18 – Position 5

After a disappointing P16 result in qualifying on Sunday morning, Mostert used a lightning start to move up 9 positions on the first lap, despite driving in the wet on super soft tyres.

Mostert looked to be in fighting contention for the podium but on his second stop, the crew could not put enough fuel in the car to meet the 120-litre minimum fuel drop, which meant he needed to stop for a splash of fuel again to finish the race legally and dropped to P5.

Mostert has remained 4th in the Supercars Championship as a result of his positive weekend.

“A bit gutted to be honest. The car was really, really good in the slippery conditions, and there was some stuff we did at the start, even before the race started, and the weather just didn’t go our way. Obviously, it was great to have a fast car, but that extra pit stop at the end hurt our finishing position. Most people would kill for a P5 result, but when you feel you can get a trophy and maybe even on that top step, it hurts that it eluded us today.”

Mostert will now prepare for the Ipswich SuperSprint for Round 9 of the 2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, to be held on 26 -28 July with all races to be televised LIVE on Fox Sports.


  • 1 – Scott McLaughlin, Shell V-Power Racing – 2168 points
  • 2 – Fabian Coulthard, Shell V-Power Racing – 1876 points
  • 3 – David Reynolds, Penrite Racing – 1669 points
  • 4 – Chaz Mostert, Tickford Racing – 1640 points
  • 5 – Shane Van Gisbergen, Red Bull Holden Racing – 1634 points